The struggles of being a young member of a political party

It’s hard to actually be a young member of a political party simply because your views are bound to change at any point in time.

I’m going to talk to you about my personal experience. I won’t be naming any parties, candidates or locations but it is something to take note of.

When I first became a member of a political party I was very hopeful. I aligned fully with their views and doorknocked, letterboxed and handed how-to-votes like no tomorrow.

I attended campaign meetings, branch meetings and fundraisers and networked with MP’s.

That was until I started seeing factional influence and understanding the party’s true workings.

When you’re involved in a political party, don’t expect it to be as democratic as the voting process. If you have an idea, you will get shut down by the opposing faction and it’s up to you to take it or leave.

I chose to leave. Why? Because I felt I needed to grow up a bit more politically in order to become a member.

I was campaigning for future MP’s that didn’t know what they were doing or I opposed everything that they did. It didn’t feel genuine but I didn’t have the political knowledge to back myself up in case I got myself into a situation.

You end up arguing with other members, and because everything is so factional making connections means never agreeing to disagree or you either disgrace your faction or you lose reputation from the only faction that’s around you.

I wasn’t ready for that, and there’s a lot of people around me that could potentially rely on me for their own reputation. Protip: You need to forget that and think for yourself.

Hopefully one day I renew my membership and actually do my part for the community.

Leave a Reply

